Standardised diabetes classification now in place

A distinction between different types of disease published 1965, by the World Health Organization (WHO) in its “Recommendations for the classification and diagnosis.

In 1997, the American Diabetes Association (ADA) changed the criteria for classification and diagnosis, which in 1998 by the WHO and in 2000.

By 1997, diabetes mellitus had been classified by the type of treatment into five groups:  NIR: (non-insulin-requiring) treatment without external insulin, for example, only with diet and/or oral antidiabetic agents.  IRC: (requiring insulin for control) In addition to the body’s own insulin is also an external insulin required to lower elevated blood glucose levels.  IRS (insulin required for survival).

External insulin injection is needed for survival. This is according to the old classification of type 1 diabetes and type 2 diabetes with a much reduced or ceased their own insulin production.  IGT (impaired glucose tolerance) impaired glucose tolerance.   ND (non diabetic) is not suffering from diabetes.

Since1998, all organizations that share an affection for the cause are split into the following four categories (types or classes):  Type-1 diabetes mellitus: specific destruction of beta cells of pancreatic islets of the pancreas, usually leading to absolute insulin deficiency.  Type 1a: immune-mediated (autoimmune disease).  Type 1b: idiopathic (unknown cause).  Type-2 diabetes mellitus: different combinations of insulin resistance, hyperinsulinism, relative insulin deficiency, secretion.  Type 2a: non-obese (overweight). Type 2b: with obesity.

Other specific types of diabetes:

A: genetic defects of the beta cells of pancreatic islets

B: Genetic defects in insulin secretion

C: pancreas (pancreas) diseased or destroyed

D: diabetes by hormonal disorders (endocrinopathies)

E: diabetes by drugs or chemicals (drugs, poisons)

Q: Infections

G: unusual forms of immune-mediated diabetes

H: other genetic syndromes associated with diabetes

Pregnancy diabetes (gestational diabetes)